Advertising

Sunday, October 3, 1993 - Page updated at 12:00 AM

E-mail article     Print

Some Titles From The Northwest Bookshelf

A biweekly selection of new titles by Washington writers and publishers, or of local interest:

Fiction

"Failure to Appear," by J.A. Jance (Morrow, $20). The Seattle mystery writer's latest J.P. Beaumont novel finds the veteran police sleuth tracking a serial killer from Seattle's arts world to Oregon's Shakespeare Festival.

"Trouble in Transylvania," by Barbara Wilson (Seal, $18.95). Cassandra Reilly, the translator-detective from "Gaudi Afternoon," investigates a murder in Romania's Carpathian mountains, in the Seattle writer's latest travel-mystery.

"ViraVax," by Bill Ransom (Ace, $17.95). Sci-fi about murder and conspiracy in a private genetic research lab, by a Grayland author known for his collaborations with Frank Herbert ("Dune").

"Final Design," by Noreen Gilpatrick (Mysterious Press, $17.95). A Seattle-set mystery about the murder of a graphic-arts studio partner, by the former owner of a Seattle advertising agency.

"Home Movies," by Paula Martinac (Seal, $10.95). A novel about a New York City lesbian writer mourning the death of her AIDS activist uncle, from the Seattle publisher.

"My Horse, and Other Stories," by Stacey Levine (Sun and Moon, $11.95). A Seattle writer's debut story collection, described by the publisher as being in the vein of Flannery O'Connor and Jane Bowles.

"Promises," by Katherine Stone (Zebra, $4.99). Contemporary romance about a trauma surgeon who loses her heart to the director of a San Francisco transplant unit, by a Seattle-area author.

"The Inscription," by Richard Hugo Gatchel (Fithian Press, $10.95). A retired philosophy professor and his wife make an unusual archaeological discovery in Northern California, in this novel by a philosophy professor who recently moved to Seattle.

Nonfiction

"The Misbegotten Son," by Jack Olsen (Island/Dell, $5.99). Paperback edition of the Bainbridge Island author's study of New York murderer Arthur J. Shawcross, who continued his crimes after release from prison.

"Thin Air: Encounters in the Himalayas," by Greg Child (Laurel, $5.99). True high-altitude adventures from an Australian-born mountaineer who lives in Seattle.

"Bitter Roses: An Inside Look at the Washington Huskies' Turbulent Year," by Sam Farmer (Sagamore Publishing, $19.95). An examination of the controversy surrounding the University of Washington football program that led to coach Don James' retirement.

"Two Old Women," by Velma Wallis (Epicenter Press, $16.95). Based on an Athabaskan Indian legend, this Fort Yukon native's book won the 1993 Western States Book Award for creative nonfiction. Epicenter is a Seattle-Fairbanks publisher.

"Short Bike Rides in Western Washington," by Judy Wagonfeld (Globe Pequot, $12.95). Where to cycle, from the Columbia River to the Canadian border - and slightly beyond, by a Tacoma author.

"You Don't Have to Take It! A Woman's Guide to Confronting Emotional Abuse at Work," by Ginny McCarthy, Naomi Gottlieb and Sandra Coffman (Seal, $14.95). How to deal with humiliation, name-calling and intimidation in the work place, by three Seattle writers.

"The Best Places to Kiss in Hawaii: A Romantic Travel Guide," by Paula Begoun, Stephanie Bell and Elizabeth Janda (Beginning Press, $10.95). Optimal island osculation locales, from the Seattle publisher who brought you "The Best Places to Kiss in the Northwest."

"Cloud Dancers: Portraits of North American Mountaineers," edited by Jonathan Waterman (American Alpine Club Press, 710 10th St., Golden, CO 80401, $14.95). Profiles of 17 North American alpinists, including an essay by Seattle writer Jon Krakauer.

"Two Left Brains: Public Radio Commentaries from KCMU-Seattle," by Irv Pollack and George Howland Jr. (Open Hand, $6). Fifteen short pieces about the drug war, welfare myths and other matters, by two Seattle radio personalities.

"Immigrating to the U.S.A.," by Dan P. Danilov and Howard David Deutsch (Self-Counsel Press, 1704 N. State St., Bellingham, WA, $14.95). A new edition of a how-to guide for would-be immigrants. Danilov is a Seattle attorney.

"How to Build a Take-Apart Playhouse," by Jack McKee (1117 Leonora Ct., Bellingham, WA 98225, $9.95, plus $2.78 tax and shipping). Revised edition of construction manual.

"A Quick Course in Lotus 1-2-3, Release 4 for Windows," by Joyce Cox, Patrick Kervran, Joyce Cousineau (Online Press, $12.95). Latest software manual from the Bellevue publisher.

Poetry

"Earthquake Babies," by L.A. Heberlein (Mellen Poetry Press, P.O. Box 450, Lewiston, NY 14092, $9.95). Poems by a Seattle resident.

"Mirror, Mirror. . .Reflections of a Man's Life," by A.W. Lane (Dragon Press/Alleywaln, P.O. Box 9466, Seattle, WA 98109, $9.75, plus $2.50 shipping). Poems, with photographs, by a Seattle writer.

"3 & 1," by David Lloyd Whited (Red Sky Press, $9). Poems by a Vashon Island poet, from the imprint of Seattle's Red Sky Poetry Theatre.

- Compiled by Michael Upchurch

To be considered for this listing, finished books (no manuscripts or galleys) should be sent to: Book Editor, Seattle Times, P.O. 70, Seattle, WA 98111. Clearly indicate book's price, publishing date and local connection.

Copyright (c) 1993 Seattle Times Company, All Rights Reserved.

advertising


Get home delivery today!

Advertising

Advertising