Advertising

Thursday, April 4, 1996 - Page updated at 12:00 AM

E-mail article     Print

The Courtly Car Collector: Ken Behring Is No Bubba

Special To The Times

I was having lunch with The Rich California Developer. I didn't realize this amounted to consorting with the Devil, but then those were kinder and gentler days. An early spring rain had washed the hills above Danville, outside Oakland, and many tumultuous things had yet to occur, such as the bizarre precipitation of ceiling tiles from the cavernous vault of the Kingdome roof.

I was silently pondering a social dilemma: When the check came, should I try to grab it first?

Let's see: I'm a Northwest journalist, having lunch with a wealthy public figure; if he picks up the tab then I will have let money exercise its pernicious influence. On the other hand, he's got enough money to buy the average Seattle suburb outright; I've enough to buy a duplex in Mossyrock. Furthermore, he developed the complex we're in and still owns a good part of the facility. Lunch will make no bigger dent in his finances than a geoduck hiccup in Elliott Bay.

Seattle Seahawks owner Ken Behring is worth about 20 million times the tab for a midday meal of pasta and salad at Blackhawk Plaza - say, $400 million. We were having lunch because I had flown to the Bay Area to visit his classic car collection. Behring tossed in a tour of his home and a mid-day visit to his favorite local restaurant. It was a pleasant day spent with a pleasant individual.