Advertising

Wednesday, March 25, 1998 - Page updated at 12:00 AM

E-mail article     Print

Boys Soccer / South Puget Sound League North Division -- For Watson, It's Speed Over Size

Seattle Times South Bureau

AUBURN - Joe Watson waited to hear his name, and waited, and waited.

Surely, it would come, as it had the year before when the list of players chosen for the under-16 regional soccer team was read.

"I thought I had played pretty well," Watson said of the tryout period. "I was pretty sure I was going to make it."

This time, he didn't. Next time, Watson vows, he will - and more.

"As soon as I found out I didn't make it, I said I was going to make the national team this year," the Auburn Riverside junior said. "I've been working really hard. As soon as I got home, I started lifting weights and working on my skills."

Lack of speed, Watson was told, was a primary reason he didn't make the regional team. Not any more.

"That (speed) just came this year," he said. "I wasn't always one of the fastest guys in the league. Weightlifting really helped my speed."

Watson has always been one of the smallest guys in the leagues he's played in. Consequently, he developed some of the quickest feet around.

"Always being a little guy, I knew I had to get rid of the ball as soon as I got it," Watson said. "The other guys were always bigger and stronger."

Watson, 5 feet 7, has bulked up from 130 pounds to 150 since last year, thanks to the time in the weight room. He already is proving to be a big pain to defenders in the South Puget Sound League North Division. Watson, a midfielder, scored both goals in the Ravens' 2-0 victory over Kentwood last week, then tallied three goals and three assists in a 7-1 victory over Kent-Meridian.

Not bad for a guy who had eight goals and nine assists his entire sophomore season.

Auburn Riverside Coach Dave Winter is wild about Watson.