Advertising

Wednesday, January 20, 1999 - Page updated at 12:00 AM

E-mail article     Print

Doctors And Health Plans: Making The System Work

Special To The Times

I'M a physician, so I know precisely the importance of a great doctor-patient relationship. People get the care they need, when they need it. And they stay healthier. When you like your doctor and trust what he or she has to say, and they listen to your concerns and needs, it makes all the difference in the world.

I was 20 years in private practice in internal and pulmonary medicine. Now, I'm the medical director at Regence BlueShield, our state's leading health plan, with more than 1.1 million members.

So, when I heard some doctors - even those who are friends and longtime trusted colleagues of mine - characterizing a new contractual agreement we distributed last summer to providers in this state as a "master-slave relationship," well, that didn't sit too well with me.

I've worked with health plans my entire medical career; on occasion I have disagreed with them. But I was never their slave. And I was never told how to practice medicine. I would not tolerate that when I was in private practice, and I won't tolerate it as medical director at Regence BlueShield.

That's why when I felt the backlash from my colleagues last summer, my one and only reaction was this: We need to find a better way for doctors and health plans to work together. Period. We must have enough of a partnership to come together, with trust and credibility, to resolve those problems. That's what is best for our patients and health-plan members.

We listened to physician leaders from groups such as the Washington State Medical Association and the Pierce County Medical Society, as well as many individual providers and practitioners who had voiced their strong concerns about our newest contract. And then we got to work on making changes to our contract.