Saturday, July 12, 2003 - Page updated at 12:00 AM

E-mail article     Print

High School Sports

Prep notebook: Lincecum, Curtis share MVP award

Pitcher Tim Lincecum of state-champion Liberty and outfielder Colin Curtis of Issaquah share the Class 3A MVP award for the 2003 all-state baseball selections made by the Washington State Baseball Coaches Association.

Lincecum, a senior, was the Gatorade State Player of the Year and the most dominant pitcher in KingCo 3A. The UW signee finished 12-1 with a 0.76 earned-run average and struck out 183 in 91-1/3 innings, helping Liberty to its first state baseball title.

Curtis, a senior, hit .405 with six doubles, five home runs and 21 runs batted in for Issaquah, which won the KingCo 3A Tournament and placed third at state. Curtis will play at Arizona State next season.

Steve Marquardt of Kennewick was voted the 4A MVP. Marquardt, a junior, was the Big Nine player and co-pitcher of the year after winning the batting triple crown (.508-11-36) and nearly winning the pitching triple crown (7-0, 1.67, 59 strikeouts in 42 innings).

Coaches' all-state baseball teams, selected by a committee of coaches from the Washington State Baseball Coaches Association:

Class 4A

First team — Steve Marquardt, Jr., Kennewick, pitcher/infielder; Mike Wagner, Sr., Redmond, pitcher/infielder; Travis Webb, Sr., Lewis and Clark, first base/pitcher; Kevin Corrigan, Sr., Kentridge, first base; Brent Shea, Sr., Wilson, pitcher/infielder; Matt Lane, Sr., Port Angeles, catcher; Mychal Deming, Sr., Evergreen (Vancouver), pitcher/infielder; Kyle Kendrick, Sr., Mount Vernon, pitcher/infielder; Matt Tuiasosopo, Jr., Woodinville, outfielder/pitcher; JT Zink, Sr., Curtis, pitcher/infielder; KC Herren, Jr., Auburn, outfielder/pitcher; Ryan Smith, Sr., Enumclaw, pitcher; Brett Davis, Sr., Federal Way, pitcher/infielder.

Second team — Brett Kilborn, Sr., Ballard, pitcher/outfielder; Richie Lentz, Sr., Woodinville, pitcher/outfielder; Brandon Harmon, Sr., Shadle Park, pitcher; Mike Cherry, Sr., Ferris, catcher; Steve Griffith, Sr., Kamiak, pitcher/infielder; Josh Kutz, Sr., Mount Vernon, pitcher/first base; Chad Schroeder, Sr., Cascade, pitcher/infielder; John Addison, Sr., Puyallup, outfielder; Brian Cox, Sr., South Kitsap, pitcher/infielder; Jake LaForest, Sr., Olympia, catcher; Eric O'Flaherty, Sr., Walla Walla, pitcher; Ryan Anderson, Jr., Kamiakin, infielder; Adam Siler, Sr., South Kitsap, pitcher/infielder.

Honorable mention — R.J. Miller, Sr., University, infielder; Clay Hayden, Sr., Tahoma, catcher/outfielder; Jesse Rodgers, Sr., Capital, infielder; John Bond, Jr., Skyview (Vancouver), outfielder; David Ciarlo, Jr., Evergreen (Vancouver), infielder; Bryan Boal, Sr., Hudson's Bay, outfielder; Nick Jiles, Sr., Davis, outfielder; Billy Boyer, Sr., Enumclaw, infielder; Colt Humme, Sr., Southridge (Kennewick), outfielder; Tyler Mack, Sr., Kentlake, infielder; Travis Hill, Sr., University, pitcher; Bjorn Rowberg, Sr., Walla Walla, first base; Nick Wentworth, Sr., Eastlake, pitcher; D.J. Nance, Sr., Bothell, outfielder; Mitch Canham, Sr., Lake Stevens, outfielder; Josh Fullington, Jr., South Kitsap, pitcher.

MVP — Steve Marquardt, Jr., Kennewick, pitcher/infielder.

Coach of the year — Elton Goodwin, South Kitsap.

Class 3A

First team — Tim Lincecum, Sr., Liberty, pitcher; Colin Curtis, Sr., Issaquah, outfielder; Joel Johnson, Jr., Columbia River, first base; Will Kaage, Sr., Burlington-Edison, pitcher/first base; Derek Dupree, Sr., Shorecrest, pitcher/outfielder; Marcus Faulkner, Jr., Highline, pitcher/outfielder; Kyle Parker, Sr., West Valley (Yakima), pitcher; Brent Wyatt, Sr., Ellensburg; Phil Entel, Sr., Clarkston, outfielder; David Hovde, Sr., Squalicum, outfielder; Justin Larkin, Sr., Yelm, infielder; Jeff Miller, Sr., Newport, infielder; Mike Kenny, Sr., O'Dea, pitcher.

Second team — Vince McKinney, Sr., Centralia, pitcher/outfielder; Charlie Bolton, Sr., Anacortes, infielder; Jacob Rosell, Sr., Yelm, pitcher; Shane Sullivan, So., North Thurston, outfielder; Brody O'Connor, Sr., Skyline, catcher; Garrett Kimbel, Jr., Liberty, outfielder; Tyler Haggett, Sr., Meadowdale, pitcher; Brian Jackson, Sr., Shorecrest, infielder; Jamie Miller, Sr., Hazen, infielder; Kyle Clark, Sr., West Valley (Yakima), outfielder; Jordan Ponzoha, Sr., Tumwater, pitcher; Craig Marshall, Sr., R.A. Long, pitcher/outfielder; Matt Brown, Sr., West Valley (Yakima), first base.

Honorable mention — Matt Walton, Jr., Sehome, pitcher/outfielder; Jake Burns, Sr., Anacortes, outfielder; Matt Nelson, Sr., Aberdeen, first base/outfielder; Gio Pupo, Sr., Newport, pitcher; Kyler Powell, Sr., Selah, DH; Corey O'Connor, Sr., Hanford, infielder; Justin Andrews, Jr., Columbia River, infielder; Tyler Fortier, Sr., Camas, infielder; Ryan Eckman, Jr., Washougal, pitcher; Aaron Rockeny, Cheney; Matt Wickswat, Jr., Issaquah, pitcher; Christian Romple, Sr., West Valley (Yakima), catcher.

MVP — Tim Lincecum, Sr., Liberty, pitcher; Colin Curtis, Sr., Issaquah, outfielder.

Coach of the year — Klayton Wycoff, West Valley (Yakima).

Class 2A

First team — Marcus Moug, Sr., Chimacum; Jay Brossman, Sr., Pullman; Grant Sanders, Sr., Blaine; Travis Didier, Sr., Connell; Matt Coffman, Sr., Othello; Wes Norstadt, Jr., Mount Baker; Nick Gnaedinger, Sr., Ephrata; Greg Smith, Sr., Lakeside (Nine Mile Falls); Billy Jones, Jr., Ridgefield; Sonny Garza, Jr., Othello.

Coach of the year — Vern Hare, Othello.

Copyright © 2003 The Seattle Times Company


Get home delivery today!