Advertising

Wednesday, January 12, 2005 - Page updated at 12:00 AM

E-mail article     Print

Wine Adviser / Paul Gregutt

Small is beautiful at Ballard winery

Watch out Walla Walla! Move over Red Mountain!

Washington state's newest, most exciting wine destination may be — are you sitting down? — Ballard! Granted, Ballard has a ways to go before it catches fire. In fact, the entire 2004 vintage from the not-quite-yet-proposed Ballard AVA is sitting in a recycled beer bottle in Matt Gubitosa's cellar. It's the 2004 Estate Grown Pinot Noir from Animale, Gubitosa's mini-micro boutique winery.

Animale, which released its first commercial wines in 2003, is what the French call a garagiste (limited-production) operation. Gubitosa, a geologist by trade (he works for the Environmental Protection Agency in database management), has converted the basement of his Ballard home into a snazzy winery, laboratory and barrel room

Animale is one of many dozens of such hobbyist wineries in this state. There are so many, in fact, that it's almost impossible to get an accurate count. Jane Baxter Lynn, executive director of the Washington Wine Commission, estimates there are "at least 320" wineries in Washington, all but a handful making fewer than 2,000 cases annually. The problem, she explains, is that the number of bonded licenses issued by the state does not necessarily equal the number of wineries, as some wineries might hold several different licenses.