Thursday, June 1, 2006 - Page updated at 12:00 AM

E-mail article     Print

NW Briefs: Lincecum tops Pac-10 pitchers

Washington's Tim Lincecum, who set several school and Pac-10 records this season, was named Pac-10 Conference Pitcher of the Year on Wednesday.

The right-hander from Liberty High School of Issaquah leads the nation with 12 victories and 199 strikeouts, both school records. He also set UW marks for career victories (30), career strikeouts (491), and career innings (342). Lincecum's 491 career strikeouts are the most in Pac-10 history.

Oregon State outfielder Cole Gillespie was named the Pac-10 Player of the Year, Arizona State's Ike Davis Freshman of the Year, and Oregon State second baseman Chris Kunda Defensive Player of the Year and Oregon State's Pat Casey Coach of the Year.

Three other Huskies joined Lincecum on the All-Pac-10 first team — senior outfielder Zach Clem, junior first baseman Curt Rindal and sophomore outfielder Matt Hague.

Washington State had two first-team picks — senior outfielder Jay Miller and freshman pitcher/outfielder Jared Prince.

Also on the first team were Arizona State's Colin Curtis, a junior outfielder from Issaquah , and Stanford's Chris Minaker, a senior infielder from Lynnwood.

UW golfers tied for 3rd

The Washington men's golf team is tied for third after one round of the NCAA Championships at the Crosswater Club in Sun River, Ore.

The top four Husky scores were a combined 7-under par for a 281 total to tie with Oklahoma State. Wake Forest is 11 under and leads at 277 and UCLA is second at 8-under 280.

Washington junior Alex Prugh is fourth individually after a first-round 67. Defending NCAA individual champion James Lepp is tied for ninth after a 3-under 69. Kyle Reifers of Wake Forest leads after a 7-under 65. The tournament continues through Saturday.


MacKenzie Flynn, a sophomore point guard from Redmond who played at Idaho last season, is transferring to Western Washington.

Michael Ricci, a former Newport of Bellevue standout, is one of eight players who will play men's soccer for Western Washington next season. Also added: MF Mitch Barrows from Ferndale, D Nick Saletto from Squalicum of Bellingham, GK Christian Warman from Sedro-Woolley, D Ben Coffey and MF Sean Connor of Mount Vernon; GK Michael Lockwood from Skagit Valley CC; and MF Shogo Kurihara from Whatcom CC.

• Senior Frank Prince of Puget Sound has been named to the All-District men's track/cross country team for the third successive year. Whitworth's Jeff Grassley and Pacific Lutheran's Erik Jensen also were honored.

• Discus thrower Jessica Telleria and pole vaulter Scott Romney were named Western Washington's Scholar-Athletes of the Year.

• Senior LeAnne McGahuey and junior Cameron Neel were named Athletes of the Year at Central Washington. McGahuey was GNAC Player of the Year in volleyball, and Woodinville's Neel won three GNAC titles in the shot put and discus.

• Columbia Basin of Pasco beat Lower Columbia of Longview 6-5 in 12 innings Tuesday to win the Northwest Athletic Association of Community Colleges baseball title.

Kevin Penner, a 15-year-old freshman from Eastlake of Sammamish, finished third out of 61 golfers in his age group of the Future Collegians World Tour National Championship in Palm Beach Gardens, Fla.

2006 All-Pac-10 Team

Hector Ambriz, UCLA, dh; Ryan Babineau, UCLA, c; Darwin Barney, OSU, inf; Dallas Buck (2), OSU, rhp; Zach Clem (2), WASH, of; Colin Curtis, ASU, of; Matt Cusick, USC, inf; Ike Davis, ASU, lhp/of; Cole Gillespie, OSU, of; Kevin Gunderson (2), OSU, rp; Matt Hague, WASH, of; Cyle Hankerd, USC, of; Dave Huff, UCLA, lhp; Tim Lincecum (3), WASH, rhp; Jay Miller, WSU, of; Chris Minaker, STAN, inf; Brandon Morrow, CAL, rhp; Jonah Nickerson (2), OSU, rhp; Preston Paramore, ASU, c; Jared Prince, WSU, rhp/of; Curt Rindal, WASH, 1b; Eric Sogard, ASU, inf.

Honorable Mention — Daryl Arreola, ASU; Tony Barnette, ASU; Brennan Boesch, CAL; Brett Bordes, ASU; Brad Boyer, ARIZ; Mitch Canham, OSU; Travis Coulter, WSU; Jermaine Curtis, UCLA; Allen Craig, CAL; Brandon Crawford, UCLA; Elliott Cribby, WASH; Jason Donald, ARIZ; Hector Estrella, USC; Baron Frost, USC; John Gaston, ARIZ; Chris Jensen, UCLA; Ian Kennedy, USC; Chris Kunda, OSU; Matt Lane, WASH; Chris Lewis, STAN; Shea McFeeley, OSU; Matt Manship, STAN; Jim Murphy, WSU; Jeff Miller, WSU; Paul Oseguera, UCLA; Greg Reynolds, STAN; Bill Rhinehart, ARIZ; Tyson Ross, CAL; Colt Sedbrook, ARIZ ; Blake Sharpe, USC; TJ Steele, ARIZ; Darin Vieira, USC; Brett Wallace, ASU; Travis Webb, WSU.

Player of the Year — Cole Gillespie, Oregon State.

Pitcher of the Year — Tim Linecum, Washington.

Defensive Player of the Year — Chris Kunda, Oregon State.

Freshman of the Year — Ike Davis, Arizona State.

Coach of the Year — Pat Casey, Oregon State.

(2) — Two-time All-Conference selection; (3) — Three-time All-Conference selection

NCAA Men's golf championship

At Sunriver, Ore.

(Played at the 7,630 yard, par 72, Crosswater Club .)


Wake Forest 277
UCLA 280
Washington 281
Oklahoma State 281
Clemson 282
Kentucky 283
Florida 284
North Carolina State 284
Oklahoma 284
East Tennessee State 286
Arizona State 287
Minnesota 287
Charlotte 288
Duke 290
Texas A&M 291
Northwestern 292
Lamar 292
Brigham Young 292
South Carolina 292
UNLV 293
Georgia 293
Auburn 295
Arizona 296
Nevada 296
Pepperdine 296
Coastal Carolina 296
North Carolina 297
Texas Tech 297
Loyola Marymount 300
Georgia Tech 301
Kyle Reifers, Wake Forest 65
Pablo Martin, Oklahoma State 66
Taylor Wood, USC 66
Alex Prugh, Washington 67
Daniel Im, UCLA 68
Cian McNamara, E. Tenn. State 68
Jonathan Moore, Oklahoma State 68
Ray Sheedy, Charlotte 68
Jake Ellison, Brigham Young 69
Garry Hill, North Carolina State 69
Billy Horschel, Florida 69
James Lepp, Washington 69
Chris McCartin, Wake Forest 69
Stephen Poole, Clemson 69
Zach Bixler 70
Sterling Clark 75
Erik Olson 75

Includes contributions from college sports-information directors and team reports.

Copyright © 2006 The Seattle Times Company


Get home delivery today!