Advertising

Friday, September 8, 2006 - Page updated at 12:00 AM

E-mail article     Print

Guest columnist

What's the right thing to do? Devote more state money to schools

Special to The Times

Helping kids has been the focus of my community volunteer work. The universal question I have asked youth when they are confronted with a dilemma is: What's the right thing to do? They starve for the question and nourish themselves with their response. They invariably respond by doing the right thing.

As a new member of the board for the seventh-largest school district in the state, I am asked: What's the right thing to do? Most of the time the question is asked in the context of marshaling limited resources to accomplish what seem to be limitless expectations.

In the mid-1970s, I was a student in Federal Way when the weaknesses of our state education funding system became apparent after consecutive levy failures in several districts. We drifted into a pattern of expecting local tax levies to fund education with less money coming from the Legislature. During this crisis the Legislature was asked: What's the right thing to do? It did nothing.

A judge was then asked: What's the right thing to do? He responded by enforcing the state constitution by ordering the Legislature to breathe life into the words, "It is the paramount duty of the state to make ample provision for the education of all children residing within its borders ... " and to "provide for a general and uniform system of public schools" through adequate funding.

The result of the ruling was felt quickly. The Legislature passed legislation and the amount funded by local taxes dropped from 23.7 percent in 1977 to 7.9 percent by 1980. The state had done the right thing by following the constitution and the judge's order.

Sadly, though, this percentage has steadily crept back up to 16.24 percent in 2004-05, the latest available figure.