Advertising

Sunday, November 12, 2006 - Page updated at 12:00 AM

E-mail article     Print

3A Girls Swimming | Hall completes 4-in-a-row feat

Special to The Seattle Times

FEDERAL WAY — Holy Names senior Lauren Hall dived deep into state girls swimming history with her efforts over the weekend.

By doing so, Hall joined a short list of elite swimmers.

Hall became just the eighth swimmer to capture the same event four years in a row in state's 37-year history, capping a four-peat in the 200 individual medley on Saturday in the Class 3A meet at the King County Aquatic Center.

Hall sped to near-six-second victory in an All-American time of 2 minutes, 2.87 seconds.

"When I was a freshman, I wasn't that fast and I really surprised myself, so once I got [the title] I wanted to hang onto it," said the UCLA-bound Hall, who also added a second-place trophy in the 100 backstroke. "I wasn't going to let anyone take it away."

Hall wasn't even aware that she was on the verge of such a feat.

"I definitely thought more [than eight people] did that," she said of the four-peat.

Without an individual or relay champion, Bellevue captured its fifth team title in the past six years and sixth in the past eight with 216 points. Bainbridge followed with 197 points, while Kennedy was third (189) and Mercer Island fourth (165.5).

Kennedy junior Brianne Lindblad, who has been fighting a bad back suffered in a June car accident, figured in four state titles.

Lindblad, at 5 feet, 2 inches, won the 100 backstroke — for the third year in a row — the 100 freestyle and swam legs on the winning 200-medley and 400-freestyle relays.

"If she'd taken time off, [her back] probably would've healed completely, but she kept doing what it takes to stay competitive," Kennedy coach Marc Stock said. "Her times lately hadn't been spectacular, but I knew the way she started [Friday in preliminaries] that she'd be tough.